Better Dead than Red? Childbirth in America

In 2000, the World Health Organization ranked Americans’ overall health at 72nd among 191 member nations. Their five deaths per 1,000 births ratio ranks alongside Hungary, Malta, Poland and Slovakia. So maybe, with hindsight, it wasn’t the best time to move there with a pregnant wife! Before we arrived, the only concern I had was my wife’s due date being in early July. Obviously being British, I didn’t want my baby born on the fourth of July!  I soon realized that really was the least of my problems! I have chronicled our experience in this article.


Leave a Reply

